Tuesday, April 1, 2014

New posthumous Michael Jackson album slated for May 13

A new posthumous Michael Jackson album, featuring eight previously unreleased tracks will be released on a new album in May, Epic Records announced Monday.

Fans can pre-order the new album, titled "Xscape," on iTunes and elsewhere beginning on Tuesday, the company said. "Xscape" will reach retail outlets stores around the world on May 13, Epic added. It will be Jackson's twelfth studio album.

The press release said that Epic teamed up with several top producers to “contemporize” the songs "while retaining Jackson’s essence and integrity, creating the best music you’ve never heard." The list of producers includes Timbaland, Rodney Jerkins, Stargate and John McClain.

The album shares its name with one of the new singles. Jackson and Jerkins co-wrote and co-produced the song "Xscape," which Jerkins then "contemporized" for the album, Epic said.

We may see more from Jackson. Sony's Columbia Epic Records, which was the pop superstar's record label for three decades, signed a long-term deal with Jackson's estate to posthumously release music from the large archives of his recordings.

To reiterate, iTunes and other outlets will have the album for pre-order beginning on April 1.  Only Apple's online store was mentioned in the press release, though, and we were unable to find it on Amazon.com.  For now, it can be ordered from iTunes in deluxe form here and regular form here.

No comments: